A road trip to remember

A look through some old photos led me to memories of the first long road trip I had ever undertaken. It was the year of 2010 when S and me were in the United States of America. With its massive six to eight lane smooth as butter highways, US is a dream place for a road trip from anywhere to anywhere! Further you get to rent the choicest of cars through Avis or Hertz.

My first road trip, the first of many, lasted for around 10 days on the west coast of the US in the picturesque state of California in the month of November. Flashes of the changing scenery come back to me as I go back down memory lane. From white conifers, to picturesque towns in California, the vines at Napa, the coastal route and finally an arid desert landscape! We saw it all in one trip!

A trip to Washington DC and the Shenandoah National Park

Our itinerary started with visiting the lovely Yosemite National park, one of the best National parks in the US.  The trip saw me seeing my first snowfall ever and I can never forget the sight of those lovely tall conifers all along the road on the white road that stretched ahead of us.  Fortunately, when we set out it stopped snowing, and the world outside felt like Paradise! That is one picture that will stay with me forever along with the stillness on the road in all that beauty.

A trip to Yosemite Valley

The road to Yosemite

We continued our journey to San Francisco through San Jose and onward to Los Angeles.  The journey to LA from San Francisco was in one word marvelous. The coastal road also known as Highway 1 is one of the most scenic routes in the world with its breath taking views at each turn and almost all along the road. The blue of the Pacific Ocean stretches along the road and is definitely a sight to remember. We halted at the scenic town of Santa Barbara with its incredible views and also just for the fact that I used to watch the silly soap with my mom back in its heyday!

DSC02029DSC02129

Highway 1DSC02238

Santa BarbaraDSC02524

Along the way!

A fun trip to the Universal studios at Los Angeles later saw us going to another national park – the very grand…Canyon! Another fantastic national park covered in this one trip and a sunset to remember. But wait, the trip wasn’t over yet! We had to end with a bang, and what better way to end it but to go to Vegas! Yet another landscape was covered unlike everything we had seen in California! A road through the arid, scorched desert to the burgeoning oasis of Vegas.

IMG_5766

Sunset at the Grand Canyon

DSC02645

Vegas ahoy!

This certainly was a road trip to remember through two states, five and I don’t think I will ever have one as fun as this! It wouldn’t have been possible without those fantastic roads, a great SUV with possibly CEAT tyres (or may be not in the US) and all the coffee to keep us awake at all times of driving!

‘I’m chronicling my road trip adventure for CEAT Tyres in association with BlogAdda.

 

Categories: Other Travel Blah | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “A road trip to remember

  1. Wow, i took a 10-day road-trip through California last month. And, i just started with my first post on SFO last week 🙂

    I didn’t do Grand Canyon and LV, but covered many other places.

  2. I love fifth picture from top. Great composition.

Delighted to have you here! Leave me a reply.

Blog at WordPress.com.